Day 95 (Fort Lee, NJ – New York, NY)

IMG_0532.JPG

After 12 states, 10 pairs of shoes, and over 2,900 miles, I’ve finally made it to New York City. I was fortunate enough to have someone to run with this morning, Meg Baker from the tv show Chasing New Jersey. She’s currently training for the Chicago marathon and decided to do a story on my run for the show, so it worked out very well.

We started the run going across the George Washington Bridge, which was very cool. Before I knew it we were in NYC. We went about 8.5 miles and ended in Central Park. This was a couple of hours before the “official” finish, but I wanted to get into the city a little early and just take my time and enjoy it.

From Central Park my dad and I ran to Riverview Terrace right next to the Queensboro Bridge. I love that spot and ever since the start of my run I’d imagined running there to finish this run. It was a nice little moment, and at that point I had finally felt as though I’d completed my journey.

I walked around the city a bit before it was time to run into Central Park. Once I got there I was greeted by a surprisingly large group of people, including reporters from numerous tv stations and newspapers. Also I should mention that I had a few Canton folks who drove out with my mom and brother to watch my finish. I can’t thank everyone enough for coming out and showing their support. It means so much to me.

I got to meet some amazing people from Stand Up to Cancer as well, which was really great. I’m so glad that I got to do this run for their organization and had the opportunity to be a part of their fight against cancer. Everyone from there has been so helpful and encouraging the entire way, and I really appreciate everything they’ve done.

After we finished up with all of the interviews, I went into Tavern on The Green to try and change my clothes in their bathroom. I was greeted by the employees who asked if I was the runner, and then said that if I’m ready for lunch my meal’s on them. I’m not one to turn down free food, or free anything for that matter, so we dined at Tavern on The Green for lunch. Everything there was incredible, and the staff was so friendly and gracious. I’ll definitely return there the next time I’m in the city.

After lunch we headed down to Nat Sherman International Cigar Shop. The wonderful gentleman who we met in Fort Lee last night after my last run, Cliff Gold, works there and told us to come down and check the place out if we got the chance. He gave us a tour of the store It’s such so nice, and I’m not even a cigar guy.

We eventually made our way back up to the GWB, went back to the RV in Fort Lee and headed home. I wish I could’ve stayed in the city longer, but I’m not the one driving so I guess I don’t get to make that call. Hopefully I’ll make my way back in the next month or so. I miss it there already.

So my run across America is now over. I’m not really sure how I feel about it right now. It’s kind of bittersweet. On the one hand, I’m relieved that I’m finished and don’t have so many things I have to worry about, particularly getting injured. At the same time though, I’m not sure what to do with myself now. I’ve gotten so used to the routine of running 40 miles every day. I definitely plan on continuing to run, but obviously not nearly as many miles as I’ve done these past three months. One of the coolest things now is that I can say that I ran across America, instead of saying that I’m running across America, and then knocking on wood so that I don’t jinx myself and get injured.

I’ll post one more blog tomorrow just for old times sake, so I’ll save the goodbyes and thank you’s for then. But seriously thank you all so much for the support. It means the world to me.

One thought on “Day 95 (Fort Lee, NJ – New York, NY)

  1. Congratulations on finishing the run. What a great accomplishment. Good luck with whatever you do in the future. I enjoyed reading this blog everyday. I will miss it.

Leave a Reply

