Day 61 (Philadelphia, MO – Quincy, IL)

20140711-081442-29682836.jpg

Missouri flew by so fast… until today. It seemed like today took an entire week to finish.

My first 10 miler went very well. I knew I was feeling especially good because I got chased by three dogs and didn’t mind. Luckily they were all friendly, although the pug that came after me scratched the hell out of my leg jumping on me, but it’s impossible to get mad at that cute weird face.

I felt good for the majority of my second 10 miler, until the last mile or so. We ran into a bit of a road block, quite literally. The bridge was out where I needed to go and there was no other way around it that didn’t require going about 20 miles out of the way.

I went down to the partially rebuilt bridge to ask a worker if there was any way I could walk over or around it, but there was no one there. So I crossed the “bridge” very cautiously, and made it to the other side safely and resumed my run. Emmett had to take a huge detour to get around it, but that’s the way she goes.

I was a little beat on my third run, mostly due to the fact that I could see Illinois in the distance but it was still so far away. Finally I finished the run right before the bridge over the Mississippi River and into Illinois.

I finished the day with an easy run into Quincy and decided to call it a day at 35 miles so that I could have just a little more time to rest. Tomorrow is my day off so it’ll be nice to just relax a bit before taking on Illinois, which is even smaller than Missouri, so it should go by in the blink of an eye.

Leave a Reply

