Day 44 (Lakin, KS – Garden City, KS)

20140623-235344-86024537.jpg

I started out fairly early this morning to try and fit in as many miles as I could before we had to pick my dad up at the airport in Garden City at 2:00.

I did two 10 milers to start out with, with about an hour break in between. Then I managed to squeeze in 6 more miles before it was time to head to the airport.

I ended my third run just outside of Garden City, so we were already pretty close to the airport. After we picked my dad up, we all went and got lunch at a Mexican restaurant. Little did we know that Mexico was playing today in the World Cup. Everyone in the place was going wild during the game. I couldn’t care less about soccer, but it was a fun atmosphere nonetheless.

I did 8 miles for my last run and felt great. I ended up a few miles on the other side of Garden City. At the end of the last run we stopped to take a picture by the sign for Garden City and a man pulled up in a pickup truck and offered to take the picture for us.

He’s a farmer and was just an extremely great guy. We told him what we were doing and he told us about how he and his wife lost their 3 1/2 year old son to cancer. It was truly devastating to hear, and my heart goes out to he and his wife. No one should have to go through something like that.

It makes me all the more determined to see this run through to the end no matter what, and hope that it can maybe help in some way.

Leave a Reply

