Day 33 (Wolf Creek Pass – Del Norte, CO)

IMG_0912

We got a bit of a late start this morning as we took our time eating breakfast at Tom Owens house. Finally we said our goodbyes and got back on the road. It was a great time getting to hang out with Tom, a fellow Canton native, and he was more than helpful these last couple days.

After finishing at the top of Wolf Creek Pass yesterday, I got to enjoy a nice long downhill this morning as I made my way down the other side of the mountain. I was feeling really good so I decided to start the day with a 10 miler. It was a beautiful, cool morning, and I was feeling just as good as yesterday.

On my second run I went 7.6 miles through the Rio Grande National Forrest, which was amazing. My dad parked the camper at the finish, ran out to meet me and ran back to the camper with me. It’s always nice to run with someone else after running so many miles on my own.

I was only going to do 8 miles for my third run, but felt so good that I decided to make it 10. At this point I decided that I wanted to do 35 miles for the day, so I took a short break and then went back out for my last 7 miles.

I couldn’t believe how great I felt today, and my pace was actually faster than any other day so far. I’ve gotten into a rhythm and I just hope I can keep it going. I’m not saying every day is going to be as good as today, that never happens in running. Some days you wake up and have it, and other days you don’t. The key is to just keep moving forward either way.

Leave a Reply

