Day 12 (Salome, AZ – Aguila, AZ)

20140522-215620-78980222.jpg

Today was full of desolate roads with some nice mountains in the background. That’s about it. Nothing too exciting.

I felt alright. Definitely not as good as the last couple of days, but my body still seems to be holding up pretty well.

It was actually a bit chilly on my first run this morning, which hasn’t happened since the very first day leaving from the pier. It got pretty hot, but nothing unbearable.

I’d say the most noteworthy thing that happened today was on my last run, where I had my first encounter with some dogs. This was one of my biggest fears going into this trip. Don’t get me wrong, I love dogs, but if you’re running, biking, walking, etc., dogs can be your worst enemy.

So as I’m running down this long road with only one house in sight, I could see that the lone house was occupied by at least one dog. I crossed to the other side of the road and tried to stay under their radar. Unfortunately, the Rottweiler saw me and alerted his three other cronies, who all darted after me. I contemplated trying to keep going forward and outrun them, but they had the angle on me, so I turned back and sprinted the other direction. Once I was out of their range, I called my dad and had him pick me up and drive me past the house.

It may have been a cowardly move, but I was outnumbered and they had home field advantage. I had pepper spray with me, but I don’t think it could have stopped all four of them from ripping out my jugular. Plus I just don’t think I could pepper spray a dog, even if they were the spawn of Cujo.

That’s about it for today. I’ll talk to you all again tomorrow.

One thought on “Day 12 (Salome, AZ – Aguila, AZ)

  1. Garth mom stopped by last evening with two great pictures of you with the pin on, made me feel good. We are praying for you everyday and are so very proud of you. Be safe and God will take care of you. Connie

Leave a Reply

