Day 7 (Imperial Gables, CA – Winterhaven, CA)

20140517-215309.jpg

While running yesterday, I thought to myself, “Well, there’s no way it will get any hotter than this.” Boy, was I horribly mistaken.

Today was the first day where the heat really got to me. It didn’t help that the roads were pretty terrible for running, with little to no berm most of the day, forcing me to jump off the road every time a truck came by.

It wasn’t all horrible, though. In the middle of the day we met Jeff Moore from Oxford, England, who is currently biking across America, from St Augustine, FL to San Francisco, CA. He stopped and talked with us for a while, and we gave him some much needed water.

He told us about how when he was in Arizona, he and his friend, who was also riding, got hit by a pickup truck. After getting out of the hospital, his friend had to fly home, but Jeff continued on, despite having 4 cracked ribs and various other injuries. I wish the best for him on the rest of his journey.

You can read all about Jeff’s trip on his blog. Just go to crazyguyonabike.com/doc/notanumber.

I did five runs today, but only the first and third were alright. For the most part it was a pretty miserable day for running. But I’m still glad that I pushed through it and got 30 miles in.

It’s been one week now since I began this journey. In one week I’ve run 210.78 miles. I don’t even want to think about how many miles I’ve got left to go, but now that I’ve written this sentence it’s at the forefront of my mind. Damn it.

One thought on “Day 7 (Imperial Gables, CA – Winterhaven, CA)

  1. Praying for strength and endurance. You have done well to get to the 200 mile mark. Canton is proud.

Leave a Reply

