Day 5 (Thermal, CA – Brawley, CA)

20140515-174555.jpg

I started my first run right at sunrise this morning. It was great running weather, for about an hour. Then it became insanely hot. Luckily I was able to get 17.5 miles in before it got too bad.

A couple of hours later, I decided to try and get the rest of my 12.5 miles done with early and relax for the rest of the day. This plan was so much better in my head. As I passed by the bank in downtown Brawley, with 6 miles left to go for the day, I looked up to see that it was 105 degrees. It didn’t surprise me, but it certainly was disheartening.

I carried on, very slowly, being passed by about 20 trucks carrying nothing but onions. I found many of them scattered on the side of the road up ahead, and contemplated picking some up. You take them home, throw them in a pot, add some broth, a potato, baby you got a stew going!

Although the last part of my run was tough, it still feels great to have gotten done so early. That gives me more recovery time before my next run tomorrow morning.

An added bonus is that we decided to stay in a hotel tonight. So I finally got to take a much needed shower. Not to say that I haven’t showered the past five days, but the quality of the showers were subpar at best. Let’s just say that up until now, if a swarm of flies had to choose between me and an entire field full of steaming piles of crap, I would have been the belle of the ball.

3 thoughts on “Day 5 (Thermal, CA – Brawley, CA)

  1. I just read the article about you in Runner’s World. What an incredible undertaking you are on! I’m so glad you’re blogging about it, because now all of us dreamers can taste a little of the adventure. Take care of your knees, and good luck!

  2. “the belle of the ball” — funny!! I just found out about your run via the Runners World website so I will be following you through the rest of it. You’re an inspiration! And thanks for running for a good cause. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013 and am proud to say that I am now a survivor.

Leave a Reply

